An open letter to my boss; I’m out!

Dear Sir, 

Let me be frank & direct and ask you the following; who the fuck do you think you are treating your employees like their life has stopped the moment they were employed in your establishment? 

Who do you think you are, confined in your glass walled office, to yell at me and abuse me verbally for not conforming to your last minute demands? Who permits you to threaten me if I do not comply by your demands? And most importantly, who the hell granted you the mighty power to suggest I pack my bags and leave if I am not comfortable with my ‘altered’ job description?

I have my rights even though they were thrown out of the window the moment I went out of my way to work longer hours.

I have my dignity even when I sat silent in front of disgruntled and disrespectful customers because of the establishment’s motto “the client is always right”. 

I have my self respect even when my colleagues seem to have sold it for less for their end of the month meagre paycheck.  

I am an accomplished woman who takes her job very seriously but to a certain point. Don’t walk all over me, that’s what I am going to say.

My bad for not listening to my friend’s advice about my choice of employment. I have always stooped to bureaucratic jobs below my league. 

A job is a job regardless of your social status, I believed. However when your rights are null and you are taken for granted and disrespected, that’s where I draw the line. 

I am leaving.

So long bureaucratic slavery. So long arrogant employers. So long ungrateful colleagues.

I am leaving. 

Because I am worthy of respect, of gratitude and acknowledgment. Because I am not as much in need of this job as you are of an employee. Because I believe that receiving merely a paycheck above the SMIG is not worth the abuse, workload and ungratefulness of everyone present.

I wish you nothing at all. 

Sincerely not yours, 

The one with her self- respect intact, who left.

(NB: To those in the same position as the above mentioned woman, just leave because you are worth better elsewhere).

Author: Patyl-Astrid

"Be daring, be different, be impractical, be anything that will assert integrity of purpose and imaginative vision against the play-it-safers, the creatures of the common place, the slaves of the ordinary." Cecile Beaton

Leave a Reply

