Bookish Bookworm’s recommendations!

 Follow my blog with Bloglovin

This year I took part in the #bookchallenge set on Instagram, by fellow book bloggers worldwide. While most of you follow fashion icons and fashionistas for beauty/ clothing tips, I, on the other hand love to follow bookish readers like myself. There are many book bloggers out there and I have come to like a few much more for their witty book reviews and recommendations (@crimebythebook @theguywiththebook @alice.in.wonderbookland @paperfury and etc…)

My challenge was to read 30 books within a year and I accomplished it by reaching 31, knowing fully well that I could have surpassed the limit by far more. Hence next year’s challenge being set to 50. I have a specific genre that I like to read and that is psychological thrillers, murders, mysteries. On the other hand, I like to drown myself into novels that are set in time and locations such as 18th century France or Britain with the clash between the royals and the common peasant. I know two extreme genres. And I like them the best. I have three pages of to be read books recommended by my fellow book bloggers (apart from the un-opened books left on my shelf) and I cant wait to start.

I was keen on sharing with you some of the books that I enjoyed much reading this passing year, hoping that I might spark some interest in you to devour as well;

Crimes & mysteries books > You have none other than James Patterson, Lisa Jackson and Mary Higgins Clark to dwell into. Michelle Davies’s “Gone Astray” is a very good read. Full of suspense and last minute twist to the plot.

One book that had me hooked for a whole week, day and night, was none other than “The Crow Girl” by Erik Axl Sund. To be honest, you need the stomach to read this last one as some scenes within are a bit too graphic and even for the strong hearted like myself, left me a bit queazy. Not recommended for sensitive readers.

crowgirl

My all time favorite crime author is Jo Nesbo. I don’t know what it is but I feel its the whole psychological challenge/ thriller that is behind his characters that has drawn me into his books. I recommend “The Snowman”. The latter left me exploring the same genre of writing within other Norwegian crime writers. I gotta thank @crimebythebook for encouraging me through her posts into exploring these crime authors.

Furthermore, if you are an avid historian and love the history behind the famous capitals of the world, I advise you to grab Edward Rutherfurd’s timeless books. I read “Paris” , “London” and “New York” and I travelled with the characters of each book within each century. Each city unfolds the lives of a few and more families who with each passing years intertwine together through love affairs, marriage and secret pacts. It is an enjoyable read for anyone wishing to escape their present state into the glorious past of of these capitals. The author has been awarded the Goodread choice Awards Best Historical Fiction. Goes without saying 🙂

2016-12-14-13-48-06

This last month, I decided to end my book challenge by exploring some readings from Middle Eastern authors. I came to realize that as a middle eastern, I related to the plots and stories within these books, my favorite authors being Elif Shafak and Ahdaf Soueif. I recommend “The Bastard of Istanbul” , “Honor”, “Three daughters of Eve”. Shafak tackles modern day issues within her books that any woman can relate to. Ahdaf Soueif’s writings are dreamy and poise. I would recommend “The eye in the sun”, and especially “The map of Love” . Before I forget, “The Yaacoubian Building” by Alaa Al Asarany is an enjoyable read. If you have the patience to read the story behind Rabih Alameddine’s “The Hakawati” then I would recommend you start right away and immerse yourself into the story telling of djinns, queens and kings and slaves.

thehakawati

I know I had started this post by wanting to recommend to you a few of my favorite books within each genre and I ended up pouring my heart out. It is good that I stopped and realized what I was doing before I opened up all my library’s collection.

You like crimes, do not hesitate and go straight away and explore jo Nesbo and his fellow crime authors. I know that is what I am gathering as TBR for 2017.

Moreover, I am challenging myself to read more Middle Eastern author’s  books as their content is surprisingly good.

Do you have any more recommendations for me? I would love to hear about it!

xo

Author: Patyl-Astrid

"Be daring, be different, be impractical, be anything that will assert integrity of purpose and imaginative vision against the play-it-safers, the creatures of the common place, the slaves of the ordinary." Cecile Beaton

2 thoughts on “Bookish Bookworm’s recommendations!”

  1. All of these sound like great books! Thank you for the recommendations, can’t wait to get started on them.

Leave a Reply

