Social Media turning into Virtual Insanity: Are you a Woof or a flower?

Wednesday night. Bob Marley top tracks streaming..

Home alone, I decided to focus on some social media activity through my laptop; you see the only interaction I have with Facebook and Instagram is through my mobile phone posting pictures and updating, every now and then, a provocative status.

I logged into Facebook and started reading the useless activities of some of my friends. Thank God to the unfollow button. To be honest many of you, my dear friends, are unfollowed because your daily updates and outings do not the least interest me. Thats a good alternative to the good old “un-friend” button especially if, like me, you do not feel like explaining yourself when confronted to that ‘friend’ live. And it’s rude to accuse someone of being a bore downright in the face, right? Right. On another note, can someone explain to me why when un-friended, you decide to ‘add’ me as a friend again? Aren’t you offended you were booted out of my list in the first place? Anyways back to the main topic.

Social media used to be a virtual place where you uploaded pictures, polished them a bit (if necessary) so as to level up professional snapshots and shared your interests to your followers and friends.

However, recently, the updated version of some of our social media apps have introduced the most useless activities ever. I don’t understand why you are proud in sharing with us a dog-version of yourself with your tongue out. Seriously? what is funny in that? and worse, why do you think that I, among many, will be interested in liking your post? Moreover, the mere fact of opening and closing your mouth in public looking at a screen in the palm of your hand and laughing uncontrollably by yourself just because you have turned into a dog, honestly alarms me!!

Last but not least, as if selfie culture was not emphasized enough, looks like every one of you girls are princesses worthy of a flowered crown. Have you for a split second, watched yourselves, when in public, twisting your head left and right to keep that damn virtual object on your head? What is the point of such a post? You are not in the 70s. I repeat you are not in the 70s. Now if it were a diamond encrusted crown…. Wake up people!

Social media is developing yes but with it, people hooked on it, are regressing. Let me say it plainly; you are becoming a stupid human being interested in the most superfluous and un-necessary virtual inventions out there. Worse, you are becoming part of the increasing brainless flock out there. Hence my lovelies, the un-follow button.

Now tell me, are you a Woof or a Flower person?

xo

 

ps: I can’t wait to see what shape you will be introducing yourself in next time I decide to click on your unfollowed profile.

 

 

 

Author: Patyl-Astrid

"Be daring, be different, be impractical, be anything that will assert integrity of purpose and imaginative vision against the play-it-safers, the creatures of the common place, the slaves of the ordinary." Cecile Beaton

Leave a Reply

