An Open Letter to My Girl Friends

 

Dear Girl Friend

I have been waking up everyday meaning to talk to you yet have not had the strength nor the courage to call you. On this special occasion, I am writing to you this letter.

As you must have known till now, you are among the rare people that I like to hang out & interact with whether its on social media platforms or in get togethers. My circle of friends is limited not because I am some sort of pariah but simply because I do not trust women. You see throughout my life, I have lost endless relationships because I could not bother interacting with women who are not passionate and intellect, jealous women who put gossiping and taking down other women their priority. 

I might not see you regularly and our meetings might have come to a halt for a while. However, you are truly dear to me. You are one of a kind. Your drive to succeed in life while pursuing your passion is what drew me to you in the first place. The fact that you do not develop any envious feelings towards another human being as well. They say you can only surround yourself with people who you share similar traits with. They are right, hence you.

My dear friend, you have always believed in me even when I had lost that same belief. You have always been there for me and pushed me to test my own limits. Whether you know it or not, it is your own drive and hard work that kept me going in pursuing my passion and succeed in it. Your words of encouragement helped me to survive this chaotic world. Your unbiased opinions have shed a light to my path. You have opened my eyes and I am grateful for it. 

I enjoy myself every time I am out and about with you. I learn new things whenever I stumble on a post or a picture you have been generous enough to share with the rest of us. 

My dearest friend, we might have not seen one another as of late, both of us being kept hostage by our passionate work, however know that you are an amazing soul and a beautiful empowering woman. 

Happy International Women’s Day.

xo 

2016-03-08 14.22.18_resized

 

(Photo courtesy of Instagram)

Author: Patyl-Astrid

"Be daring, be different, be impractical, be anything that will assert integrity of purpose and imaginative vision against the play-it-safers, the creatures of the common place, the slaves of the ordinary." Cecile Beaton

Leave a Reply

