Social Media ; My two Cents on Digital Influencers.

 

social-media-image

Social Media; websites and applications that enable users to create and share content or to participate in social networking.

Now that we all agree on the formal definition of social media, let me elaborate to you my thought on the above mentioned topic.

We are all online and interact on social media platforms such as Instagram, Facebook and recently Snapchat (except me on the latter. I don’t see the point of it…). We all share our daily routines, outings, friends and now and then post some motivational quote and elaborate a personal input below it. We all do it,I too, except that a few reached a certain status quo with the number of followers and theme revolving around their online platform. The most famous of them all being the Fashionistas, then those lifestyle bloggers and not to forget the culinary experts.

I follow on Instagram a few of the above profiles and when I scroll down my feed, I do sometimes learn of events, new launches and openings in and around Lebanon. Fashion does not interest me, hence scratch all those blown out of proportion profiles of 2k+ dollars trendy mix and match outfits wore by 25+ missuses. I am by no means relating to the successful fashion bloggers with 50k+ followers. Those I admire for pursuing their passion for fashion and establishing themselves locally as well as internationally.

Social Media is exposing one’s personal life to a public that will or will not relate to you and follow. What you post should be who you really are and what message you want to convey to total strangers. I have come to notice that a lot of people direct messages and portray a lifestyle on a screen that is far from the reality they live in. Many motivational quotes are posted followed by large paragraphs of personal experiences leading to does and don’t that are actually not applied by the owner of the platform user himself. Anyone can easily write in good english some morality based script and give advice to a public. However, when facing the dilemma (again) not apply it to himself. I have seen a few cases of the sort and thought to myself, how hypocritical of them. Then again, they are human beings and human beings come with a default; emotional weakness. Furthermore,let me give a few examples I witnessed from such people; many of them criticized the trendy duck face, yet in their pictures (and selfies) pout slightly. When the TV series, The Sisters, started airing on a local channel, all of them attacked the silliness of the concept and made fun of the sisters’ lifestyle. What a shock when they started imitating the famous leg front pause while taking fashionable pictures. I am sure that if a series revolved around their life, they would have grasped the opportunity with arms wide open.

I am not a person who likes to brag and quite modestly I have come to differentiate an eager digital influencer from the other. The phonies are the ones that I do not follow no matter their successful presence online. The most genuine ones are few and I am sure they portray their likes/dislikes and does/don’ts added with advice with a certain tact. Their profiles are entertaining yet full of learnings (if such word exists, yet you got my point).

One of the profiles that I have come to follow and like a lot belongs to Mrs Roula Nahas aka The Sunshine Diary. I have never met her, yet I feel that she is one of the most genuine person out there on social media. I admire the fact that she tackles a family, a career and a social life all at once. Her shared pictures are always a joy to look at and her inspirational quotes a motivation. Quite a few times I related to the inspirational pushes she spreads to her public and gained free encouragement out of it. Don’t you agree that is simply a delight to see a person constantly smiling and spreading positivity around? That is what the Sunshine Diary aims and succeeded (within me).

Online, I have come to portray myself, Patyl.  Social media gave me the opportunity to post pictures, whether silly or not and build an online presence. People who know me in real life come to notice that my on- screen life and personality match. I abhor fake and distance myself from hypocrites. I do not have a target of followers to reach as I am content by the impact I have towards my friends and a certain number of followers through my quotes. As I have always said, it is the quality vs the quantity that is important. In the past couple of months, I have received messages and comment below a few pictures that gave me a smile. 2015-06-10 23.53.15

2015-06-11 00.02.13-2And Believe it or Not, that is enough for me.

Goodnight EveryOne.

and Sweet Dreams…

xo

Author: Patyl-Astrid

"Be daring, be different, be impractical, be anything that will assert integrity of purpose and imaginative vision against the play-it-safers, the creatures of the common place, the slaves of the ordinary." Cecile Beaton

Leave a Reply

