BankMed or MotherCare?

A couple of weeks back, streets of Beirut were being bombarded with an intriguing advertising (no not the black cat ad).

Giant panels bore the letter “YOU”. I instantly realized that this is the sort of advertisement that unravels with time, today is ‘YOU’ , tomorrow might be ‘HIM’ ..etc… I was curious and could not forget about the whole thing since the ‘YOU’ was following me everywhere (and I was following it as well). However, with time it bore me and started gazing at other offers. I mean, come on whoever is behind this thing, you are killing us with suspense!

One day while driving I noticed that the ‘YOU’ had invited an odd word to join its new home, ‘COUNT’. I was not expecting this turn of event. I mean, ok its normal to have a verb after a pronoun but I thought some grammar freak was reminding the rest of us the personal pronouns of the English language… My mistake.

This turn of of events made me think deeply and took me to question myself, my existence and analyze some deep philosophical thoughts. I count!!! Some stranger was telling me and the rest of the population that we counted!!! When did that ever happen in a country like ours? We have a voice, we count, we exist… (ok Im going to stop, too much excitement!!). Now I was even more curious to see the man behind this strong statement.

My shock when it turned out to be the new logo of BankMed. I have never been a fan of banks. Working in one scarred me for life. Moreover, the tactics they use to lure clients disgust me. But I admit each and everyone of us needs to hold a bank account.

I did not do any research about this specific bank because honestly speaking it does not interest me. However while I was driving yesterday with my sister and we stopped at a red light (yes we abide by the new law, thank you!) the main headquarter was glowing its new logo. My sister and I tried to remember the old logo but in vain. One funny remark from her made me question the intention of this new geometrical form “Hey Pat! this new logo reminds me of the one of MotherCare no??”

What do you think? Doesn’t it a bit???

4x3_envvvvv

VS

Unknown

 

 

Author: Patyl-Astrid

"Be daring, be different, be impractical, be anything that will assert integrity of purpose and imaginative vision against the play-it-safers, the creatures of the common place, the slaves of the ordinary." Cecile Beaton

1 thought on “BankMed or MotherCare?”

Leave a Reply

