The Lebanese Fairytale Wedding! (Say what???)

wedding is the ceremony in which two people are united in marriage or a similar institution. Wedding traditions and customs vary greatly between cultures, ethnic groups, religions, countries, and social classes. Most wedding ceremonies involve an exchange of wedding vows by the couple, presentation of a gift (offering, ring(s), symbolic item, flowers, money), and a public proclamation of marriage by an authority figure or leader. Special wedding garments are often worn, and the ceremony is sometimes followed by a wedding reception. Music, poetry, prayers or readings from religious texts or literature are also commonly incorporated into the ceremony.

I live in a city (a country, a whole region) where marriage has degraded over the years from being a sacred commitment between two people to a ridiculous circus -show held to entertain the people attending this joyful union.

But, let me first of all introduce to you to the mentality still very much alive within this society.

We live in a society that till this moment (at the dawn of the next century) look upon girls who are still single at the wake of their early thirties. If you tell me we cant blame those people for thinking that way (that way being a middle-eastern cliche) well then I would tell in a high pitched voice that there has been not only scientific evolution and technological boom but as well a mentality awakening that you (retard) should be aware of since globalization is at everyone’s reach. These people think that if a girl is not married at a certain age then she is done, doomed, an old maid, a hag to her parents.. what the f&@^? (and bear in mind am talking about the 25-33 age group). These people do not take into consideration womens’ fulfillment in life, their own growth whether mental or/professional. I know a lot of women who hold their personal life for that of a successful career, and I do not blame them (hearing their complicated and twisted love life stories……a dread!!!). And do not forget that this country does not facilitate union because of high inflation and high household expenses and low wages…..

I am not gonna continue on babbling over this topic and cut straight to the point!

Wedding ceremonies are over-rated in Lebanon and this I am sure all of you readers will affirm to me.

What better proof than the many wedding planners popping ever year and killing us with their advertisements in magazines, especially when summer is around the corner.

Every year, BIEL entertains a venue especially for the future brides to be and last year I attended it with my friend who got married a couple of month ago. I never over came the shock of all those women and their mommies (yes mommy-dear and future mommy-inlaw are experts in the field, hence they should monitor every move of the hysterical bride to be and let us not forget the budget,uhummm) and the amount of wedding planners present in Lebanon(not to forget that the posh,i-e expensive ones, do not attend such gathering, pardon!!). Anything you ever imagined related to a wedding was present in this venue.

I was shocked by the ridiculousness some of the services businesses were offering, take for instance (and its hilarious) a service was that the couple would register an online wedding album of their wedding. I mean what the hell??? Why would any sane person upload such an intimate ceremony for people to view all over the world? Typical of lebanese show-off i am guessing….hopeless love i say!

On the topic of wedding planner, I have a friend who works in that field and the services the company offers are very restrictive and high-classed, for a niche category of people, so anyone with a budget less than USD 300,000 are not welcomed!!!!! Yes that is the minimum cost this company charges..Now I have checked pictures of weddings they have planned and honestly, to my taste, they are overly-exaggerated and distasteful! I am sorry but that is my opinion.. I am sure a lot of people would think otherwise 🙂

Isn’t a wedding one day? Shouldn’t the married couple rather invest financially on the future shared years to come than a gathering that will not only make people skeptical but gossipy?

Well again, that is my opinion… just saying you lovebirds…think….

The more the flowers, the merrier the couple?

The bigger the venue, the more successful the wedding?

The more invitations sent left and right, the more liked the married couple?

The more mini- bridesmaids, the higher chance of fertility???

Everything more is less elegant and more loud.

I have always wondered what happens to the flowers decorating the church and the diner tables and entrance to the venue. At waste you tell me??

I do not see the point of booking a huge venue only if it is to prove to friends, relatives and strangers who will look at the wedding photos in mundane magazines the approximative amount that has been spent on this ceremony.

People tend to invite anyone and everyone who has taken part in the bride and groom’s lives, even if the person himself has not been in touch for a few years now. I wonder if it is not to fill their pockets through the wedding lists…

Yes it is cute to have kids parading as your bridesmaids, yes it is a sight to see but a dozen is a bit too much especially that they have no clue what is going on and behave like they wanna be anywhere but not next the bride!

You think I am sarcastic? Well that is the point…

You think I am against the institution of marriage? No I am not..Like any other sane woman I do want to get married and I know that when the right person comes it would eventually happen. However what I am against is the whole idea of wedding ceremony. Fine you tell me that we are all obliged to go through that step to start our matrimonial life. However why not make it low-key, simple,elegant and ideal? Isn’t it being surrounded by your family and close friends the point of having a wedding and sharing with your cherished ones your special day? people who will genuinely feel and relate to your happiness?

Well that is what, in my opinion, the true definition of wedding (like mentioned at the beginning of this post) and I wish that someday my lebanese compatriot will come to embrace!

And now I pronounce you husband and wife!

You may kiss moi!! haha!!!

Author: Patyl-Astrid

"Be daring, be different, be impractical, be anything that will assert integrity of purpose and imaginative vision against the play-it-safers, the creatures of the common place, the slaves of the ordinary." Cecile Beaton

1 thought on “The Lebanese Fairytale Wedding! (Say what???)”

  1. I want to state that yes, unfortunately, my friend Patyl is true about the way some certain level of society think here in Lebanon. They are usually the sick minded rich ”look at me” people, who rather think that the more ”expensive” the name of brand or idea for their wedding is, the more people will talk about it. They are attention seekers and they want others to keep talking about them. So, I actually congratulate silly idea sellers, because they knew where to sell them! 🙂

Leave a Reply

